fbpx

School Year Calendar

Professional Activity Days (Students do not attend school.)

To maintain their standards of excellence, KidsAbility School teachers are continually and actively engaged in professional development throughout their careers. To support the ongoing continuing professional development of all Ontario teachers, the Ontario Ministry of Education designates up to six professional activity (PA) days per school year and defines the criteria and topics, according to provincial priorities for education. Professional activities are devoted to the professional learning of teachers with respect to improving student achievement and student success and to closing the gaps in student achievement.

  • August 31, 2023 (PM) – Occupational health and safety training
  • August 31, 2023 (AM) – Literacy and mathematics
  • October 6, 2023 – Literacy and mathematics
  • November 13, 2023 – Special education
  • January 19, 2024 – Report card preparation / reporting to parents / ongoing communication
  • April 19, 2024 – Curriculum implementation
  • May 31, 2024 – Report card preparation / reporting to parents / ongoing communication
  • June 28, 2024 (AM) – Student well-being, school safety and violence prevention
  • June 28, 2024 (PM)- Other board priority

School Holidays

  • Monday, September 4, 2023 – Labour Day
  • Monday, October 1, 2023 – Thanksgiving Day
  • Monday, December 25, 2023- Friday, January 5, 2024, inclusive – Christmas Break
  • Monday, February 19, 2024 – Family Day
  • Friday, March 8, 2024- Friday, March 15, 2024, inclusive – Mid-Winter Break
  • Friday, March 29, 2024 – Good Friday
  • Monday, April 1, 2024 – Easter Monday
  • Sunday, May 5, 2024 – Saturday, May 11, 2024 – Education Week
  • Monday, May 20, 2024- Victoria Day

The final day of school for students is Thursday June 27, 2024.